Formed in 1962, the Ohio Municipal Electric Association (OMEA) is the legislative liaison to 80 Ohio community-owned-and-operated municipal electric systems.

The Ohio Municipal Electric Association provides legislative liaison services for AMP and 80 Ohio public power communities, with the goal of protecting the independence and constitutional rights of Ohio municipal electric systems. OMEA services include lobbying, member activities, coalition building, and legislative analysis. The OMEA also serves as the legislative liaison to AMP Inc. and represents the state and federal legislative interests of Ohio municipal electric communities.

Although closely aligned with AMP, the OMEA is a separate, nonprofit entity guided by a 16-member Board of Directors. The OMEA board is composed of 12 elected officials from member communities and four municipal electric systems representatives who may be, but are not required to be, elected officials of the communities they serve.

The OMEA staff perform five primary functions:

  • Monitor Legislation- OMEA staff members review, on average, more than 500 bills each year for their potential to affect municipal electric systems. Bills with such potential are examined in detail and tracked as they progress through the legislative process. Assisted by Washington-based counsel, the OMEA also monitors and tracks federal legislation affecting public power systems.
  • Advocate- OMEA staff members and community officials meet with legislators, key legislative aides and state agency officials, relating the organization’s position on important issues and fostering an awareness of the organization and its member municipal electric systems.
  • Build coalitions- The OMEA participates in coalitions on legislative issues, and works to create awareness of public power issues with various interest groups and allies. It also works closely with the American Public Power Association on national public power issues and with the Ohio Municipal League on issues of mutual interest.
  • Act as an information resource- The OMEA staff and counsel regularly provide information to members, the media and other audiences about OMEA issues, including the role of municipal electric systems in the restructured electric industry.
  • Organize member activities- As part of its mission, the OMEA develops and organizes programs to keep members aware of, and involved in, the legislative process.

The following is a list of the OMEA Board of Directors:

Member Representative
Dover Mayor Richard Homrighausen, President

Bryan Mayor Douglas Johnson, Executive Committee

St. Clairsville Mayor Robert Vincenzo, Executive Committee

Cuyahoga Falls Mayor Don Walters

Edgerton Village Administrator Kevin Brooks

Hamilton Council Member Carla Fiehrer

Montpelier Mayor Steve Yagelski

Napoleon Council Member Travis Sheaffer

New Bremen Village Administrator Wayne York

Niles Mayor Ralph Infante

Oberlin Council Member Scott Broadwell

Orrville Mayor David Handwerk

Pioneer Mayor Ed Kidston

Tipp City Mayor Pat Hale

Wadsworth Mayor Robin Laubaugh

Westerville Council Member Kathy Cocuzzi

St. Marys
Mayor Pat McGowan

Executive Director,
Jolene Thompson
AMP Senior Vice President Member Services and External Affairs

For more information, please contact either Jolene Thompson or Michael Beirne at 614.540.1111, or